Giraffe loose in my house… no really….

What a week.  And I mean that in a good way!

Hospitals are noisy places.  Between the constant sounds of various machines beeping and booping, there’s not-so-private heated family arguments, an extremely constipated Portuguese woman in the room next door (KAKA!!), and the pitter patter of post-op bariatric patients walking laps trying to fart.  Glad I brought ear plugs.  Should have brought nose plugs.

Eating is a full-time job.  Between the multivitamins, calcium, vitamin D & B and pain meds that had me seeing a giraffe on the stairs last night AND 3-4 cups of water AND 70 or so grams of protein AND actual FOOD – it’s no wonder I have a few naps a day.  By food I mean breakfast consisting of 1/4 cup of cream of wheat or the same of tomato soup.  Discovered unflavoured protein powder tastes pretty good in fat free/sugar free chocolate pudding, but not so much in cottage cheese.  It takes me a good 1/2 hour or more to eat that 1/4 cup of food.  Eat slow, see how the pouch feels, try a bit more till the serving is done.  I know it doesn’t sound like much, but as my friend Jill likes to say – “the struggle is real”.

Support has been amazing.  I mean TRULY amazing.  I have the best friends.  Between the sweet gifts and new pjs, the tidy house and checking in on me – I really could not ask for any better.  I have the BEST dad.  He’s been worried.  He’s such a help.  Love that guy to bits.  Have yet to see my brother.  :/  Everyone needs a Carol in their life.

So – how am I doing so far?  Down 27 lbs since July 21st – 18 of which I’ve lost since last Tuesday.  Sounds like a lot but I am convinced there was about $13.35 in change sitting in my stomach that was removed.  Swallowed it when I was a kid.  Probably a marble or 2, some Hubba Bubba and at least 1 fly that I swallowed the week before while mowing the lawn.  That’s all got to count for a few pounds right?

Another week of liquids to go, then onto pureed.  Exciting shit.

Leave a comment